What's new
What's new

bedding jack

speerchucker30x3

Titanium
This is a neat little project for the wannabes. It’s a bedding jack that is used to pull the barreled actions out of the stock after bedding. It eliminates the need for freezing, rubber hammers and cursing. I have been using these for about 8 years and I wouldn’t glass bed without one now. I am quite sure that you could even pull an action if you forgot to put the release agent on it. But there wouldn’t be much left of the stock. The pictures should be self explanatory. If they are not, you probably shouldn’t be building or using it.

Attachments

• glass bedding jack rem.jpg
    glass bedding jack rem.jpg
    97.5 KB · Views: 699
  • glass bedding jack win.jpg
    glass bedding jack win.jpg
    99.5 KB · Views: 427
  • mandrels.jpg
    mandrels.jpg
    97.5 KB · Views: 487
  • glass bedding jack end.jpg
    glass bedding jack end.jpg
    84.9 KB · Views: 1,008
Well of course you never have them stick Jim! Pros like us do not suffer from such worries. I of course have a few different bedding jacks to pull the barreled actions straight out of the fresh bedding and you of course have .............. your system. But I have seen people rapping on barrels with plastic or rubber hammers. Rocking the barrel and action back and forth in the bedding. Running wedges between the barrel and stock. Freezing guns in deep freezes or with dry ice. Leaving the gun on the dash of their cars so the sun will soften the bedding. But of course I just pull out the jack and slowly tighten the bolts until the barreled action is pulled straight out of the bedding. No muss, no fuss and no sweat.
⎝ᄽ⏝ᄿ⎠

I like it.

I've not had one stick to the point of feezing or using a hammer but I've had to rock a couple slightly to get them out. Pulling dead straight with the jack would be a lot less likely to damage the bedding.