What's new
What's new

“Blueprinting” an action... what and why

thunderskunk

Cast Iron
I’m having a tough time understanding why this is a thing. Please correct me if I’m wrong because I’m not sure I get it, but it sounds like blueprinting an action is bringing it to as nominal to a print dimension as possible. To do it, you need a $300 kit with two bushings and some tooling. You trim the minor diameter to be “true” to the action, then chase the threads to match. Then there’s something about checking the lugs for even purchase.

Is the idea that you keep the cartridge from being twisted inside the chamber? I did the Google, and there’s lots of people who perform this blue printing thing and there’s lots of people who say it’s a good thing but there’s nobody with actual data to back it up with. And I spent a whole 10 minutes on the Google so I’m an expert now. (Calm down, I’m just kidding. I know very little about it, which is why I ask)

I’ve voiced my hesitation, but I’m genuinely curious. Is it just another buzz word or is there an actual benefit to making your firearm actions perfectly concentric to the barrel? For the price of the toolkit I could buy the same tools to make the same action that I’m supposedly blueprinting. If I had a blueprint I just make it at nominal the first time.

Accuracy in rifles is to some degree about vibrations and distortions - waves traveling back and forth. Thus, having a "floated" barrel that isn't restrained by anything makes some sense. I have read that in the black-powder to smokeless conversion era moving the bolt lugs from the back of the bolt to the front improved accuracy. Why? Presumably because the front of the bolt is helt more securely long enough for the bullet to the leave the barrel.

Does this kind of work on a bolt matter? I don't have any idea. (Trigger jobs are usually about making the trigger easier to pull very precisely and smoothly....)

Blue Printing, is not a very good term, but it is useful just the same.