What's new
What's new

Chamber Reaming Fluid / Flush system

ls2005019227

Plastic
I am in the process of getting set up with a new lathe (13x40 Kent) and the tools necessary to re-barrel and accurize bolt actions (primarily rem700). I have two questions along the same lines: Can the coolant pump system that is currently on my lathe be used for a "through the Barrel" flush system? and, I was told by a VERY REPUTABLE reamer manufacturer to try Automatic Transmission fluid for coolant/cutting fluid while chamber reaming. If ATF can be used for reaming, can/would it be okay to use it for other cutting operations? Is ATF too thick to properly flow through the system? The idea sounds great; cheap, disposable, easily available, but I would like to here the opinions of those that are "in the know" because at this point I'm still learning and while I can't think of any problems, I would rather not learn the hard way.

Thanks

Robert

Reaming is a low speed operation where you need a chip clearing and lubricating fluid to enhance the surface finish and to reduce reamer wear. Cooling is not a main consideration.

ATF would be OK if your pump can deliver enough pressure and flow to clear chips from a cutting reamer. You will have to test the system to be sure. Try a reamer setup on a scrap barrel and see if it works.

RWO

ls2005019227: