What's new
What's new

CNC Barrel Work Questions

skeeks

Aluminum
I'm looking into purchasing a CNC Lathe to increase production for precision rifle barrel work. I am new to CNC machining and am figuring it out as I go. I am not a machinist, nor do I know much of anything about CNC lathes. I do currently build rifles on a manual lathe.

I am looking at a couple different machines with a Doosan Lynx 220 being the front runner. I'd like live tooling and a tool presetter for future projects. Looking to spend around 15~25k$. What machine would you guys suggest?

Work holding - I'd like to use collets, but I am not sure how this can best be done. I have a couple ideas for traditional methods - 1 being barrel extension and your typical 4 jaw/spider setup. If possible I'd really like to go with collets. Whats the best way to do this? All barrels get dialed into .0000-.0002".

Programming - What do you guys thing (in layman's terms if possible) is the best route to go for cutting different tennons and chambers?
My first through was using CAD/CAM (don't know g-code yet... teaching myself currently) to draw up different tennons and run different programs for different tennons.
My second thought is having someone write me a macro program. I am still very much clueless on macros, but, again, I'm learning as I go. What do you think is the best option here? I taught myself to use Fusion 360 and already have pretty much every tennon that I would need drawn with tool paths as well. I would like to machine the tennon and then the chamber within about 20 thou of finish diameter to save wear on finish reamers.

Work Offsets - What do you think the easiest quickest most repeatable way to deal with work offsets?

Thanks for your time!