What's new
What's new

Cut rifling 4140 steel

homebrew.357

Aluminum
Hi all, I`m having problems with my cut rifling of 4140 blank barrels, ,45 cal. I use a T/C cutter at 5% forward angle in cutter box on a sliding ramp , coolcut cutting oil and pull through by hand. The problem is cutter rips small chunks and leaves scratch's in the groves, so that am I doing wrong, would love to get a nice smooth finish in the rifling, :confused:, help. Homebrew.357.
P1010211[1].jpgThe cutter head.

I'm guessing it's a combination of cutter geometry and lubricant. It may also be stability within the bore, if it's not a close fit it can bounce around, and as it does so it'll dig in and cut more than it should.

For the lubricant, you may want something with more extreme pressure additives, maybe try Moly-Dee or similar.

I am no professional at this but here is my take. I assume that "I use a T/C cutter" means a tungsten carbide cutter. I am not sure that is the best choice as you probably need a real keen edge on the cutter since you are really just scraping the metal in this process. Fagersta WKE45 Swedish Tool Steel has a good reputation for use in cut rifling machines.

Will second HSS over carbide for work like this, carbide doesn't usually like to go slow, or to stay sharp like high speed steel. Also, do you have clearance on the sides for the spiral?

make sure of your positive rake and sufficient relief on top of cutter. Check straightness of barrel, close fit of cutter body is recommended but maybe hampered if barrel isn't straight. Not had a problem with carbide cutter myself. Only take small cuts 0.0001" - 0.00015". The peak of the angle of the ramp on the underside of the cutter should be forward of the front face of the blade.