What's new
What's new

Do I need to a cerficate from gunsmith school to become a working gunsmith?

xyzeugene

Plastic
I am a professional machinist with a 2 year machinist degree. Do I need to go back to school to apply to have a gunsmith business from the ATF; will the machinsist degree count for the ATF. I am in Texas and there is no gunsmith school close to me.

Thanks

Eugene
:scratchchin:

No. There isn't any certification for gunsmithing, period.

For the FFL, you will need to meet the requirements of your local jurisdiction. Business licensing, zoning, tax registration, etc. Meeting ATF requirements is the easy part. Background check and pay the fee.

Jeff

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk

Wow,thanks a bunch.
I read the ATF requirements and you were right there is no requirements for certs. I have a little machine shop(lathe/mill/tool grinder/surface plates/etc) in my garage, I should be able do something fun instead of making bolts and sewing machine parts...

The easy part is getting the FFL. Much harder to stay legal with the myriad of rules.

I agree with this 100%. If you can I would suggest you sitting down with an attorney and talking about this business venture . One that handles trusts and other gun specific issues for business. You are going to have to learn the record keeping and as stated a myriad of other thing you never knew existed !!

It can be done and I wish you luck, but take the time to start off on the right path !

What exactly do you plan to do 'gunsmithing'?

Making parts, accessories or repairing and modifying firearms.

The former requires no FFL license nor all that hassle.

The latter does require the license and the acquired knowledge that you need to get 1st before calling yourself a gunsmith. Like working for a gunsmith for a few years, and or going to gunsmith school.
And there isn't much money to be made in repairs of typical $500 guns.