What's new
What's new

Fabricate a monoblock

4575wcf

Aluminum
Hi Everyone
I am a new member as of this morning. I am a machinist 30+ year man and still learning. I am not much of a welder though. I work with a couple of youngsters that are welders with advanced schooling, but not advanced gun guys. My question is, can a side by side shotgun mono block be welded up from AISI 8620? Say a couple of 4" long 1 1\2 inch rounds properly fitted up, welded together, and then welded to a 4" long piece of 3\4 x 1 1\2 AISI 8620 flatbar? You see where I am going here. Of course the whole thing annealed before starting machine work. Chamber pressure could go up as high as a stock 303 Savage in a proper AISI 4140 barrel blank of course. Whaddaya think?

Yes ,weld no problem in low carbon ally steel with suitable filler and heat treat........however ,the weld will be very visible in case hardening colours ,and also in blueing......

Brownell's sells a 3 1/2% nickle rod which ment for gun work. it will blend in with blueing.

Not always. Years ago, I TIG welded up some scope mount holes in a Win. Mod 61 receiver ( low carbon steel) with the 3.5% rod. After bluing, the welds showed up as light spots in the otherwise nice blue on the rest of the receiver. The gunsmith did not know how to fix it. I have since read that allowing the hot blue bath to get up to a higher temp (over 300deg) will cause the spots to blue properly, but I have no experience.

RWO