What's new
What's new

Floating or rigid reamer holder?

Turner421

Plastic
Hey all, I am very new to chambering barrels. I recently bought a decent lathe, and I am in the process of buying some of the tooling needed. I will only be chambering bolt action rifle barrels. What I am needing is some opinions about reamer holders. Should I buy a floating style or rigid? Thanks for any input

It's my understanding that floating reamers will follow the bore and be more concentric whereas a solid reamer can possibly induce and offset.

FWIW

-Ron

Don’t you want to use a reamer on a through shaft that’s centered in the barrel? I think those exist.

I know of gunsmiths that use both,but not well enough to contact them and ask their opinions. I won't be using a reamer on a through shaft because that could screw up the lands. I'll be running the barrel through the headstock using an outboard spider and a 4 jaw. I'm thinking that a floating reamer holder and piloted reamer is going to be the way I go. But wanted opinions of you guys who have done it before.

If your chambering in the headstock I assume your doing this to get the first inch or so of bore straight to the reamer? If
that is true and your lathe tailstock will repeat within 1/2 thou of center of headstock then you will want to use a solid holder otherwise your wasting your time with all the setup in headstock. I personally like to set the bore from throat to +1.5" straight to lathe when done typically runout is under a tenth in the chamber and back of chamber will be at dimension if that is done with a floating reamer you will see the back of chamber grow.
good luck

I won't be using a reamer on a through shaft because that could screw up the lands.