Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Virginia
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by Konrad308 View Post
    Bill, i think scaring a grizzly and stopping an angry grizzly are two different things.

I have no experience with grizzlies, but if i had a grizzly charging me, and i only had a handgun, it would have to be my 44Mag.

Any one of the other mentioned noisy toys would make a noise to hopefully scare off a grizzly and not make him angryGuns to scare off grizzleys

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
    Black bear "usually" scare. Even an aggressive dog or house cat can run some of 'em off. They aren't "weak" nor incompetent. Simply wise enough to be cautious and "risk averse'. Smart enough to understand "time", and the difference between "hard work" and "easy pickin's" .They set themselves a note in their "day-timer" to scout yer place for food next day or once a week at times of day with less annoyance. And they will. You see a bear? Bear has seen you a LOT more often.

Brown, Grizz, Polar? Not so much in any awe of humans. Accustomed to having to compete. With other bears. And Wolves. In right NASTY organized gangs.

Fishing in-season aside, you encounter a bear, they are on their "farm".

They map-out and store a mental inventory of seasonal food sources, ready to eat or soon will be, run a regular harvesting circuit. Your presence is the same as a "home invasion" in their mind. Anybody is meant to be "scared off", you are it, not they.

Bear is smart enough to figure YOU should be as smart - and mannerly - as another bear would be and git the Hell outta Dodge without disturbing the scouting and foraging plans underway.

Bears are eating machines. Have to be. Carry a heavy load of parasites as make life hard. Bear is on the equvalent of all-day, EVERY day grocery shopping they spend most of their waking hours engaged in.