What's new
What's new

home gunsmithing machinery

DragonsBane

Aluminum
what would everyone recommend? i have some experience as a machinist but it is with machines that would handle 10,000 pound and above. would "benchtop" machines be enough? would they be enough to build a .50 caliber? thanks for your help

.........For the full usefullness of it, I'd get a lathe with no less then a 1-3/8" spindle hole and a bed not shorter then 36" between centers. I guess that means an 11" as a minumum. You may certainly get by with smaller and shorter though. Depends on how far ranging your gunsmithing is expected to go.

A milling machine would also be nice, but light milling can be done on the lathe. If you can get a mill, then a small to medium sized machine should suffice nicely. Probably more important than any machine would be a very good set of quality files. With a bit of patience files can do some amazing things.

" would they be enough to build a .50 caliber?"

Heck you can build a 50 cal Hawken with kitchen tools :). You mean a 50 cal cartridge type rifle I bet! By "build" you mean make the bolt, action and all the bits and pieces? Sure can.

Rick

I would buy a lathe that you could turn, ream and thread without a lot of vibration a 2" OD shaft 36"OAL.Are you planning to chamber from a steady rest or run the barrel through the spindle hole?This too will make a difference.Also will the lathe make metric threads, some receiver threads are metric today.

Howdy..

if you are on a budget, the 9x20, with the headstock bored out, will handle 99.9% of all gunsmithing, with the major expcetion of doing barrel tapers.. and THAT would require a much more expensive machine...

I have a 13x36 ger head...