How do you deal with "impossible" customers? - Page 2
Close
Login to Your Account
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

After college, I was a mechanic at a bike shop that sold and worked on high end road bikes for awhile. The owner had a hard rule against taking in "department store" bikes or any other low quality bikes for repair. There was another shop a few miles away whose owner he had some sort of beef with. Any time someone brought in a POS, we were told to say, "Sorry, we don't work on those bikes but there's this other place right down the way that specializes in those" and direct them to that shop.

I met one of the mechanics from the other shop one day and he was pissing and moaning about always having to work on crap bikes. I didn't tell him about our store policy.

Then again, we did send a fair about of work their way so......

Teryk

Sent from my XT1710-02 using Tapatalk

2. Likes MonCeret Gunsmit, n2zon liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Fantastic advice on this thread. I am not a gunsmith, but a self employed.

#1- the customer who whines about the cost, and the time, is the same one who will come back complaining about the quality.

#2- You get the work you do- if you do high end work, that is the work that will come in. If you take on crap jobs for cheap, you will be the guy the cheapskates come to to get their work done.

#3- Never be rude or unpleasant, just extend the job cost or time to make it "impossible" for you to do it.

#4- Pareto's Law- 20% of your customers will create 80% of your profit. Likewise, 20% of your customers will create 80% of your headaches. Sift carefully.

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Well I like guns, and I generally like gun owners. But then there are the "nuts". Now, there are nuts in any aspect of life. But, the gun flavor seem to be extra nutty.

Good luck!

Country
    UNITED STATES