What's new
What's new

How to video : Etch calibers and just about anything into barrels for hobbyists

Mram10

Cast Iron
Sorry it took so long guys. Got very busy with work over the Christmas season. Here is the link to the YouTube. Keep in mind I am not a professional videographer but this will hopefully help somebody out there

etch/engrave metal with a battery charger and vinegar - YouTube

To clarify my setup:
Cricut Explore One machine $130
Cricut printable vinyl $10 for a pack of 10 sheets
12v car battery charger on 12v 10a setting
Jar of vinegar/salt mix

Last edited by a moderator:
Henrya, glad to hear it. I need better video skills.

Tmidget,
Not surprised you aren’t optimistic about this. They require .003” which it will do.

I ran down this road several years back and setup the shop with a power source and used one of the commercial suppliers for the silk screen templates.

CFCEA606-A445-4E22-A2B1-D21629F4994D.jpg

I had to make up 50 in this first run so built a collet type fixture to hold the plates:

4481EE9E-6209-4A19-9366-856FB4A2B824.jpg 0C7DA2D6-B0A8-466C-8685-B2EA8F79E71E.jpg

fullsizeoutput_f3.jpg fullsizeoutput_707.jpg
This is the power source I am using:

MODEL VT-45A Power Unit | Lectroetch

And a interesting byword for the reason electrical etching was developed when engraving and stamping were mature techniques for marking metals:

https://lectroetch.com/wp-content/u...tch-MANUAL-in-order-by-page.cdr-CorelDRAW.pdf

Last edited:
Sorry it took so long guys. Got very busy with work over the Christmas season. Here is the link to the YouTube. Keep in mind I am not a professional videographer but this will hopefully help somebody out there

Electro etch/engrave metal with a battery charger and vinegar - YouTube