What's new
What's new

Making Jacketed Bullet Swaging Dies

1911MAN

Aluminum
This one is really for the tool & die makers out there I hope some of them are interested in gunsmithing since this appears to be the only forum I can start a thread on. I don't have the opporunity to get on this site as often but didn't there used to be a tool & die forum. OK to the point I have checked the sites of suppliers for swaging dies for jacketted bullets but not satisfied with what was available so I would like to attempt to make my own dies to swage the jacket, core and then join the two. I'm going to assume that making a reamer for the desired length and ogive would be easiest however I have never cut curves on a lathe and have no idea on how I would then cut the flutes in a mill on such a shape. If you reply keep in mind I have zero training or experience in tool & die work all of mine is gun smithing and an odd part or fixture I needed to make a job easier.

Corbin has a book on how to make swaging dies. It's out of print but book resellers have it at times.

Castboolits.gunloads.com has a swaging forum that has pics and experiences of guys making their own swaging dies. It doesn't seem that hard. You can grind a spoon yourself to form the bullet or buy a reamer made to your specs.

I've though about it and will be taking the plunge myself in the coming weeks.

As someone who casts I understand everything takes time, but it would seem like to much effort ( for me) to take the "rollin' your own" jacketed rounds. Casting the core and then swaging the jacket and joining the two, and finally to the bench.:confused: lots of tiem and work, I dont understand the benifit other then "hey guess what I can do" factor.

best of luck with it