What's new
What's new

Need help with threading

Turner421

Plastic
I am new to machining and running a lathe. I have been practicing threading and hope to do my first barrel soon. The issue I’m having is my threads are looking like the tool is tearing not cutting? And it’s a new carbide bit that I am using. Could it be that my tool isn’t set at the correct hight?

I only use a hand ground HSS bit for cutting threads. Its simple to make, cheap and lasts a very long time, and can be easily resharpened over and over again. I'm not saying its the only way to go, but many say HSS at low speeds and cut rates we tend to use is superior.

Here's a video showing pretty much what my instructor 30 years ago showed us:

YouTube

South Bend Bulletin no. 35

http://www.cutterod.com/cutter_zone/General/How_To_Grind_Lathe_Tools.pdf

I am curious to hear other's opinions.

What material and what “bit” are you currently using?

A quick check for center height would be to face a piece of material so there is no tit in the middle and measure the height of the insert off of the carriage and compare this against your threading tool. Some will moan and say to check against the tailstock but indulge me with a pair of calipers.

Lower is better than higher in this case within reason.

Are you using any lubrication? How fast are you running? Your best bet is to go as fast as you can stomach. This is one case where a mag back dial is superior to a DRO as one can anticipate the mechanical movement much easier than running digits on a display.

How about some pictures of your setup and threads and we go from there.

Could be many things.

Do you have the tool height correct? It should be at, or a couple thousandths below the centerline of the work.

What grade of steel are you cutting? Some of the button-rifled barrels cut like $#!+. I use a piece of cratex to deburr the threads when I'm done. Do you have some 12L14 to play with?

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk