What's new
What's new

Octagon to Round with Transtion Advise

Tim Mahony

Plastic
I am a hobbyist looking for advise or tips on turning an octagon barrel half round with a wedding band transition.

I have an old barrel that I will use as a test piece and I really want to do this on my South Bend 9" lathe....smile. Lathe bed is long enough to mount 32" barrel on centers and I have a steady rest and a follower rest.

So ideas or thoughts regarding setup, tooling and how to approach this project is what I am hopping for. Thanks in advance for any thoughts or ideas. tim

So you are not sure how to mount the octagon in a steady rest?
Get a round piece of tubing the octagon fits very loosly through, drill some threaded holes for soft adjusting screws to center octagon in tube and then the tube will run in the steady. Octagon needs 4 screws, 4 on each side of steady for 8 total

So you are not sure how to mount the octagon in a steady rest?

Rob, thank you. Simple solution that solves that consideration for me.

Looking to use a face plate and dog with a center on a collet and a live center on the tail stock end. It would be convenient to mount the barrel to cut the round on the tail stock side. Does it matter what side I cut from considering the barrel is mounted on centers?

Again thanks for ideas and suggestions to my newbie questions. tim

Just a couple of quick thoughts:
1) cathead (i.e. the piece of tubing with the eight screws: do not waste too much time aligning it perfectly: once it is in place, you can take a couple of skim cuts to improve the contact surface for the fingers of the steady rest and that will take care of the final alignment too.
2) Cutting direction: for light cuts, really it doesn't matter too much. However, for heavy and interrupted cuts you should cut in the direction of the most solid end, like when cutting a gear on the mill: cut from talistock to headstock, like you would cut the gear from footstock to dividing head.