What's new
What's new

Questions on Blank firing Cartridges

BenZiel

Plastic
Hi all, I am new to guns, I'm very excited and I'm trying to learn more. I do not know much, please don't be harsh.

In theory, would it be possible to convert a blank cartridge to fire a small bullet? (Not from a PAK / blank gun, but from a real firearm which can accept the blank cartridge diameters)

To begin with, I know that the propellant used in these cartridges is not the same as the stuff in standard ammunition. They say that the pressures generated by this flash powder is too great, and the gun could explode.

If the pressure is too great, then logically, one would just remove most of the powder in the cartridge until a level is found at which the pressure is not too great? Then a projectile can be fired, at that pressure, which is low enough not to break the weaker outer casing of blank cartridges?

Furthermore, if using the propellant in the black cartridge is not an option, then could one simply replace it with a little black powder?

Yes, I know there will be a massive smoke cloud when the round is fired, it will be damaging to the barrel of any gun, and is not nearly as powerful as modern propellants, but, would this work in theory, despite the negatives?

"new to guns" so should stick with normal,legal,no fooling around ,

but the bullet likely will get stuck .. then somebody will try a real bullet and blow up the barrel...

best to not try this..of any funny business with guns..

not uncommon for a bullet to get wet from water or oil getting into the powder. The primer fires and the bullet goes part way into the barrel and gets stuck. it takes a strong push to push it out. A bullet fired with a stuck in the barrel will burst the barrel.

Would this be due to a lack of pressure behind the bullet?