What's new
What's new

Rechambering process

Lanmanb4

Aluminum
Hi all .. I'm fairly new at this , 3 barrels so far.
I was wondering in which order you all prefer
to do the rechambering of a rifle barrel.
I have the Darrel Holland video ..
But have since watching it heard of other methods.
So I thought it would be good to get others opinions .
Myself . I setup the barrel with a spider that uses a plastic collar to indicate the bore at the muzzle end, and then indicate if its needed ( set-tru chuck ) at the chamber end ..
I then turn the shank, then predrill the chamber, then counterbore ( Remington 600 , 700, 7 ) then thread, then ream the chamber
with a finishing reamer on a floating reamer holder..

Whats everyone else do? Or do thats different or better? Always willing to learn
newer and better ways..

Thanks

Randy

I do it much the same way as you with one exception. I use a indicater rod, it takes the same polits as the reamer, and just indicate the chamber end with two indicators on the rod. If that makes any sense.

Kurt, I agree. If you are chambering in the headstock with a spider on the back or left hand side, you indicate the deltronic pin next to the chamber end of the barrel with your chuck adjustment and move out to the far right side of your indicating pin and adjust your cathead on the lefthand side of your headstock.I drill, bore, and ream the chamber. I set up the same way to cut my crown. Thebarrelman

Kurt:
Did you make your own indicator rods or purchase them?
What length are your indicator rods?
Have made some for myself and am wondering if I made them correctly and if they are long enough or too long to indicate for rechambering.
I don't have a taper attachment so I offset the tailstock to make a taper on the rods which I made out of O-1.

Thanks.
Larry

You make yours out of O-1 and stick them in the rifling? hmmmm .. I suppose if you are careful ..
smile.gif

I made mine out of what I believe is
copper-nickle .. harder than brass, which I