What's new
What's new

Rifle Re-Chambering Question

fishingreg

Plastic
I have a question about either cutting a current chamber deeper and setting the barrel back or say cutting a chamber deeper to make it an AI or some other improved version of the current caliber. The chamber is already cut of course and all barrel work done. How do you go about setting up the barrel in the lathe? What I mean by that is I have recently tried that just playing around and basically I removed the runout from the muzzle end and a spot just about 1/4" in front of the current cut chamber so I could check the actual bore. Then once that was all zeroed out, I indicated the chamber and the chamber is about .008 out. So if I were to just cut the new chamber like that, it would obviously oversize the chamber since the case size is the same as before. Do I just indicate the chamber in to recut and go with it? I am still pretty new at this and just playing and learning on old barrels and such right now.

Thanks,
Greg

Remember, your reamer will follow the existing chamber regardless if you indicate it in at the throat. That being said the only way I know to properly do it you will have to cut the old chamber off and start over.

Has the barrel been assembled and fired and you want to change something? Did it work alright before?
I recently built a 35 Krag. The original reamer was too tight just in front of the rim and would extract hard even with an unfired case. PTG made a new reamer for me but the gun was assembled in a way that it could never go back the same way if disassembled. So I built a reamer extension and reamed it by hand. Used a thin brass washer on the reamer for a stop so as not to change the head space on the rim.
If your barrel up is in not a super precision target set up pushing it in by hand and let it follow the old reamed chamber may be an option. .008 TIR is only .004 of center. There are probably a lot of guns out there like that that shoot OK.