What's new
What's new

Scope Rings - Any Pitfalls?

BoxcarPete

Stainless
I recently got a new deer gun - a .308 drilled and tapped for a scope mount. I got a deal on a scope and now have both bits in hand, this is my first gun that I'm putting a scope on so I figured I'd wait to have both ends before dealing with the middle.

Now, I'm wondering if it's worth making scope rings specifically to mount to the tapped holes rather than getting a base and then adding rings to that. Since I'm a newbie to scoped rifles I figured it would be worth dropping a line here to find out if there's anything I'm missing since it looks pretty straightforward.

So, any hidden pitfalls I should worry about, or just match up the scope and hole pattern? On hand my top choices are 6061, 7075, and 17-4ph that I could conveniently work with.

Depends on the action and how straight it is on top. Direct mount rings being a problem if it's not. I can rant on for hours about one I have. But a day or two of radius dressing wheels and surface grinding made it usable.

There are direct mount rings available. Again, depends on the action. Most likely you won't have any major problems with a factory action.

Made from scratch would allow you to 'fix' this as you go, if needed. Machine the bottoms to fit, take some reference cuts on them while attached, and then pull them off to finish. I knew a guy 40 years ago who made his own bases so they could be surface ground straight while attached to the receiver. He did a lot of custom Mausers and M-70's. I don't remember what rings he used, probably Buehler. He made the most beautiful octagon barrels I've ever seen. All surface ground, with integral ribs, sight bases, and sling studs.

Depends on the action and how straight it is on top. Direct mount rings being a problem if it's not. I can rant on for hours about one I have. But a day or two of radius dressing wheels and surface grinding made it usable.