What's new
What's new

Stress rlieving 416 after button rifling.

partsproduction

Titanium
I'm a newbie to this, but in another thread I was told I had to stress relieve the barrels before profiling. These are pistol barrels so about 60% of the OD will be cut away except where the lugs remain. The blanks started out at 1" and the first barrels are .380 caliber.
I have a HT furnace so what I need is the time and temperature needed. I looked up articles on the web and found this one interesting;

Stress Relieving

Stress relieving below 400°C is the most common practice, but the result is only moderate stress relief. Stress relieving at temperatures of up to 425 to 925°C will significantly reduce residual stresses which otherwise cause dimensional instability or stress corrosion cracking. One hour of stress relieving at 870°C relieves about 85% of residual stresses. However, this temperature range can precipitate carbides at grain boundary, resulting in sensitization that affects corrosion resistance in many media. Stabilized stainless steels or low-carbon type steels are preferred to avoid these effects.

Full solution treatment of stainless steels, by heating to about 1080°C followed by rapid cooling, eliminates all residual stresses. However, it is not practical for most large or complex fabrications.
Low Temperature Stress Relieving

While performing cold-working of austenitic stainless steels to improve strength, compressive yield strength and proportional limit will tend to increase with low temperature stress relieving. Stress relieving is carried out at temperatures of up to 345 to 425°C, if intergranular resistance is not important. Higher temperatures will degrade the material strength and, hence, they are not preferred for stress relieving cold-worked products.

Also, I found this here in PM;
https://www.practicalmachinist.com/...ndex2.html?highlight=stress+relieve+416+steel