What's new
What's new

Need opinions on tooling

Turner421

Plastic
So I am very new to gunsmithing and running a lathe. I can’t decide on what turning and threading tools to buy? I bought a cheqp set of 3/8 tools of amazon with carbide inserts. They work well enough, but an old machinist buddy of mine says I need something more robust. Can you guys help me out please?

Help us out- what’s the lathe you have and what are you making? And what material?
Based on your info, I’d default to a 20x80” 20hp min :)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

my issue with the bulk buy brazed carbide is poor finish.
you need a quality grinder to clean them up.

yes give us more info

I had a similar set for my 13” South Bend. I had two sets of inserts, one for Al and the other for steel. I got decades of them

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

I’m not an hss guy anymore, even though I started with them. I prefer iscar 3/4” tool holders with kennametal inserts. I use the cheap Chinese ebay carbide insert tools and inserts for crap steel and they work great.

..... an old machinist buddy of mine says I need something more robust......

Why? Can your lathe use more?
Are you making normal sized guns or ones for tanks and battleships?
Bigger machines can use bigger tooling when needed. Small and fine work is best done with what looks like wimpy tools.
Assume your current tools are like the Rouse set pointed to above.
While workable and I do use this style in-house the problem with them is that they locate the insert off of one wall only so sometimes (often?) things move on you.
They will cut a "kind of thread", .....just not a real nice one....... Yes I've done it with this tool set way more than once and had workable results but I'm a hack.

Fixed pockets are simply better all around.
Turning tools this means two walls. Not sure you want to go into negative tooling as smaller lathes are not happy in this world of carbide.
In threading it's mostly ER laydowns or Top-Notch type.