Ultrasonic Cleaner Advise
Close
Login to Your Account
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default Ultrasonic Cleaner Advise

Hi Gent's, I work full time as a gunsmith and do a lot of work on older rifles rebarrelling and rebuilding. I was thinking about getting a good ultrasonic cleaner to enable me to clean actions and assemblies before starting work on them and was wondering whether the guys have got them are finding them a valuable addition to the shop?
    I thought they may be good for cleaning modern trigger assemblies without disassembly and other sub-assemblies that need cleaning but don't benefit from disassembly?
    Also thought they could do a good job of cleaning up the filthy internals of stripped bolt bodies, action threads, and cut down on use of solvents.
    The unit I'm looking at is around $1500 so I don't want to spend the dough if I'm kidding myself on the capabilities.
    Your thoughts would be appreciated.
    Cheers
    Tom

Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Minnesota
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

I've used them for many things in machine rebuilding but not gunsmithing. Only thing I can suggest is to make sure you're getting a low frequency one. I'm not completely sure how low they go, but a 40K HZ unit is going to work better for this then say an 80K HZ unit. The lower the frequency the better for heavier soiled cleaning. High frequency units I believe are used more on circuit boards and things like that.

Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Oregon
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)