What's new
What's new

Water Cooled Machine Gun Repair

cc2417

Plastic
Hello,

Recently I purchased a registered Vickers Machine Gun at auction. Unfortunately, the water jacket of the weapon was severely damaged when it was shipped. It will likely need to be replaced to restore the original appearance of the gun.

Not being a machinist myself, I was hoping some of the pros on Pratical Machinist can weight in on the logistics and cost of such a project.

The water jacket is a basically a piece of thin-walled 4140 steel tubing, with external threading on both ends of the tube. Thin, 1mm grooves are machined into the jacket down its entire length. I've attached a picture for reference.

Any guidance/insight would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

20200716_145751.jpg

are you talking about he slight dent? Is there a hole and or is it leaking? If not then that may be something an old school body man can fix or possibly someone that does musical instrument repair. If there is a hole, Id find a tig welder or laser welder that does instrument/gauge welding as a start. Have you contacted Turnbull restorations? IDK if they do class3 stuff though.
AS far as cost, you just bought a transferable Vickers, It aint gonna be cheap, 1-2k$ at least.

You might find a deal if the person that repairs it gets to test fire it :drool5:

When you say severely damaged it is not obvious from that photo. More pictures might help.

Dents can be raised/heat shrunk and gouges could be carefully TIG welded and perhaps even filed to restore the grooves. You would be amazed what a skilled craftsman can do.

A skilled body man might use a "pick" to push the dent most of the way and then raise it further by careful spot heating with a torch and then cooling with a wet rag. The process makes the metal shrink back to its pre-stretched condition. I've seen dents on very high end cars removed that way with no filler added.