What's new
What's new

What do you think?

Nethawk86

Plastic
Question on what Mill to get

Hey everyone! I'm getting ready to get my home shop setup as local stores keep closing down and I'm tired of switching jobs. I'm now running my smithing out of my home shop. So now that all that's available to me power wise is single phase, it's been difficult to find setups that will work for me. I managed to get a Jet GH-1340W-1 Lathe that's single phase from one of the shops I worked for that shut down, but now I need a mill. Here in AZ, there's not much available besides when some auctions pop up. I managed to find an Acra AM3AC Vertical Mill with an AC inverter drive. Supposedly, according to the brochure which is all I can find on it, it's 220V/3PH/1PH (Opt 440V). I emailed the business selling it and they said it's currently setup as 3 phase 208v. Then I called and spoke with Acra directly and he said this machine can be easily switched to single phase. I'm new to these AC Inverter drives as all I've ever used was Jets and BPs in my career. Looking around on here and other forums has yielded me not much on this particular model. Here is the brochure with the specs for it (ACRA AM3 PRECISION MILLING MACHINES .ACRA AM3 PRECISION MILLING MACHINES DOUBLE-LOCK-DEVICES & ONE - [PDF Document]). What is everyone's thoughts? I'd be using it for general smithing, no production and not for a single platform. So cutting slides, sights, mounting, fabrication, stock work..etc. Seems comparable to the Jets I've used. Any thoughts on this AC inverter over belt driven?

Ok.....then how bout you shoot me a message or something letting me know what happened? I looked at all the threads and can't find these guidelines....

Find the rules here on site. Read them, then start a new thread with what you just learned.
Click the red Forum button near the top and go to the general section. half dozen or so stickies of rules for posting.