What's new
What's new

1995 HAAS VF-4 TroubleShooting

MG SkyDynamics

Plastic
Hi!

First post on the forum here. I work for a small company in Virginia that manufactures aftermarket aircraft components. This was my first job coming out of my 2 year degree in engineering mechatronics. I have been here a little over 2 years now, and have done all of the maintenance of the machines we have. Completely self taught, with the help of youtube and practical machinist, and most importantly intuitin/common sense

We have 4 CNC machines ;
2011 HAAS ST-20ss Lathe, 1996 VF-2, 2003 VF-3, 1995 HAAS VF-4.

In this thread I am going to go over the trouble shooting process of the alarms and maintanence that I have done on the VF-4. I will eventually post other threads for the different machines.

I will reply to my this first thread with all the other maintenance and troubleshooting, but I am going to start completely from the beginning of when I first met the good ole gal.

the VF-4 has been through many repairs. when i first arrived the machine would not power up restart and the Z-axis would give an over current alarm. do not remember the # since this was 2 years ago but this is the process I went through.

I first checked the servo amplifier to see if it was in working order. The multimeter tests had shown that the amplifier was shorted out. the fault light was not visible because the LED was shorted as well. so, replaced the servo amp for the z-axis first off. This enabled the machine to succesfully power up restart and zero. But something still didnt seem right with the Z-axis. It still gave a few over current alarms that day. So, shut off the machine and tried to figure out why. Took the shield completely off the vertical head, and I dove into checking the motor. I cant remember if it was brushless or not, but if it was i checked them, and observed the coupling from the motor to ballscrew that runs the axis.