What's new
What's new

1995 HAAS VF-OE Newbie Basics Questions

hend.engineering

Aluminum
Hi,
Not long put a deposit down on one of these machines and should have it operational in my workshop in roughly 6weeks time.
I'm an experienced manual machinist, but as yet, have never run a cnc mill so here goes...

1. How do I know what my maximum feed rates / rapids are? (And spindle speed)
1B. Do I need to know these figures or will the machine work around a program from say Fusion360 and "live within its means?"
1C. I see mention of machines having their HSM unlocked...would this VF-OE even have it to unlock?
2. It has a 4th axis socket and sadly the folks I'm buying it off aren't selling theirs. Anyway, can it run a 4th axis from any manufacturer? Or would I be saving a major headache finding a HAAS one?
3. Tool setting and probing. I'd really like to fit a tool setting probe for quick tool set ups and a spindle probe for work detection, centre finding etc. Is a 1995 machine too old and clunky for such modernity?
4. Through spindle coolant. Is this a viable upgrade?
5. Anything else you guys can think of mentioning that would bring me up to speed on any hidden features, I'd really appreciate any tips.

Think that's it for now, thanks in advance,
Tom.

Hi,
Not long put a deposit down on one of these machines and should have it operational in my workshop in roughly 6weeks time.
I'm an experienced manual machinist, but as yet, have never run a cnc mill so here goes...

1. How do I know what my maximum feed rates / rapids are? (And spindle speed)
1B. Do I need to know these figures or will the machine work around a program from say Fusion360 and "live within its means?"
1C. I see mention of machines having their HSM unlocked...would this VF-OE even have it to unlock?
2. It has a 4th axis socket and sadly the folks I'm buying it off aren't selling theirs. Anyway, can it run a 4th axis from any manufacturer? Or would I be saving a major headache finding a HAAS one?