What's new
What's new

Engraving problem on VF4SS

klemchuk

Aluminum
Hi all
I've been running a program on both TM2P and VF4SS for about 4 years without any problems until yesterday, when the engraving
suddenly got really faint and on the next batch of parts the tool didn't even make a mark. I have re-probed the tool, and the workpiece. Neither helps. I don't want to mess with the program because it's worked well for so long. Any help or suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

First I'd check that I didn't have a tool length wear offset stuck in it.

Then I would if you have that program backed up somewhere I'd compare the two for a slight change that may have gone unnoticed. Like your R plane or Z depth.

Maybe try recalibrating they probe. All your tools might start being way off.

Or get out an indicator and check the work holding to see that it's still flat.

My guess is offset or slight programming change.May have been accidentally saved to the controller, flash etc.

I don't know what kind of tolerances you're working with. It could just be a matter of stacked bad tool offsets. Or a change above the engraving in the code. If you have giant tolerances with a shallow engraving could be that. Let's say you take an extra 10 or 20 thou in a not critical area and try to hit a 20 thou engraving you'd just tickle it.

Could be alot of these things combined.

Best regards, And let me know how it plays out.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk