What's new
What's new

Haas machine heat output?

Nic_Machines

Plastic
I'm a machining apprentice and I'm currently coordinating with an HVAC contractor for my company's new shop- we have a Haas ST-30Y and a Haas VM-3 that we're putting in a new, soon-to-be HVACed space so that we can control for tolerances in the metal that we machine. The contractor asked me about the BTUs associated with the machines we use, and I can't find that info anywhere. What's the heat output on these machines like, and what should I tell the contractor?

Machine itself is easy...power consumed in watts x 3.42 is btu heat.

But the cutting heat depends on material, speed and tooling combined with many other things.

Should be some engineering standards that are generic in nature that could be used to approximate it.

There are experts here that have done this already and may be able to provide a better assist.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G930A using Tapatalk

I'm a machining apprentice and I'm currently coordinating with an HVAC contractor for my company's new shop- we have a Haas ST-30Y and a Haas VM-3 that we're putting in a new, soon-to-be HVACed space so that we can control for tolerances in the metal that we machine. The contractor asked me about the BTUs associated with the machines we use, and I can't find that info anywhere. What's the heat output on these machines like, and what should I tell the contractor?

Our HVAC installer told us we needed 5 Ton of A/C for our space. Boss said "OK, quote us for a 10 Ton installation". It has always been good for us. Even if you come in on Sunday and turn it on in the heat of the day, it's tolerable about 45 minutes later.

I would think that how well the building is insulated would have a lot to do with the amount of BTU's needed.
Don't forget about the stack of resisters on the back of the Haas where they dump the power generated by stopping the spindle, on short cycle jobs those babies put out some heat.