What's new
What's new

Haas Mini mill 2 probing problems

jmabe

Plastic
I'm new to Hass machines and probing. I've ran and worked with mostly Fadal and Fanuc controllers but never really a Haas. Anyway the problem I'm having is when run the spindle Probe Diameter Calibration the machine moves up about 5 inches in the Z axis then tries to probe the diameter master. When this happens the machine alarms out due to surface not found. (which it should because the master isn't 5 inches up) I don't know why the machine moves up in the Z axis before probing the bore. The ruby on the Renishaw probe is indicated in to .0001 roundness and the tool setter is indicated in with in .001 in X and Y axis. I'm able to use the calibration tool (.250 gauge pin in a solid holder) and it will probe against the tool setter in X,Y and Z axis as it should. Then I take the calibration tool out and replace it with the Renishaw probe and run the Spindle Probe Diameter Calibration. This is when I run into the problem I mentioned above. I've talked with a Haas rep and he seems to think that the macros for the probing operations had gotten corrupted some how and that was causing the problem. He sent me NGC_Renishaw_V3.22 micros to load into the machine. I loaded the new macros he sent me and I'm still having the same issue as before with the Z axis moving up about 5 inches before probing the diameter and giving me the same alarm (surface not found. I spoke with the Haas rep again and he suggested reloading the macros because they may be corrupt again. Has anyone else had this problem? Why would new macros loaded into the machine get corrupt right after loading? I can get into much more information if its needed to help figure this out.

Have you set the length on the work/spindle probe? If its the OMP40 with the 50mm stylus, the offset should be roughly 5.4"