What's new
What's new

HAAS TL-1 CNC Lathe vs Grizzly G0884 CNC Lathe - Opinions?

madbaby

Plastic
Fellow machinists,

I have been saving for two years to buy a HAAS TL-1 for my small shop. Recently I ran into a Grizzly G0884 13x27" CNC lathe at a gunsmithing shop. Asking price for this used-as-is lathe (looks mint condition) is nearly a %20 savings over buying a new TL-1.

I could not find any detailed information on the G0884 online. Talking to Grizzly customer service about it feels like talking to a Weyland-Yutani model 1979 android - lots of boilerplate text, zero information. It was announced early 2019. I cannot say it is a proven machine, I only have Grizzly reputation to fall back on. The seller was very kind, and demo'ed the machine to me. It has 1 HP servos, a 4 HP encoded spindle with A2-4. It looks tough, works good, fast, cuts and threads with smooth finish on steel. Looks like Grizzly did a CNC-retrofit of one of their gunsmithing lathes (G0776 perhaps?) with Siemens Sinumerik 808D. It also has 5 tool ATC. 3100 lb lathe with 13x27" bed.

HAAS has a nibble more of everything (HP, travel, rapids). But it is a single base cast and it does not look it can be taken apart. If I buy the HAAS, it is 4100 lb, it exceeds my existing equipment rated for 3500 lb. We have to make climb with it a 13 degree (23%) slope and move it through a 72x80" door, spindle first, without touching the threshold. We have never owned a machine that heavy we do not know how we would do that. Do you think this can be done? How?

What do you think? Used and as-is Grizzly or new HAAS? Any HAAS TL-1 users, can the lathe be taen apart a bit for less weight during transport?

Thank you for your time reading & responding.

9.jpg
1_crop.jpg
5.jpg

Hire a rigger, problem solved.