What's new
What's new

Haas UMC-500 with Phase Converter

jared.l24

Plastic
Howdy all, I'm new to the phase converter game and have some questions.

I currently have a UMC-500 which Haas rates at 30hp in my barn which I was hoping could be powered by my American Rotary AUL-75, which is rated for 37.5hp.

The AUL-75 requires a 200amp breaker, that doesn't leave me any wiggle room for spare amps, as I currently have a 200amp service coming into the barn. I'm planning on upgrading to a 400amp service later this year. Until then, I need to get this spindle turning!

So I was wondering what your thoughts on running a AUL-40 {125amp breaker) until I can upgrade my service. I take light and fast cuts and rarely see spindle loads if ever above 25%

Thank you!

I currently have a UMC-500 which Haas rates at 30hp in my barn which I was hoping could be powered by my American Rotary AUL-75, which is rated for 37.5hp.

The AUL-75 requires a 200amp breaker, that doesn't leave me any wiggle room for spare amps, as I currently have a 200amp service coming into the barn. I'm planning on upgrading to a 400amp service later this year. Until then, I need to get this spindle turning!

So I was wondering what your thoughts on running a AUL-40 {125amp breaker) until I can upgrade my service. I take light and fast cuts and rarely see spindle loads if ever above 25%

Thank you!

cant be that fast since its a haas...

I run several machines with REAL 30HP spindles on a 60HP RPC. I have had to adjust accel parameters on the bigger machines, but steady state is fine on an RPC. Fanuc rates their drives to pull 200% of the max nameplate current on acceleration. New Fanucs are set to full kill from the factory. They accelerate from zero to max spindle speed in 1/255th of a second with the only limitation being the max amps. If the machine's nameplate amps is 100, then the spindle is allowed to pull 200 amps on startup.