What's new
What's new

Haas VF-2 z axis crashing down on e stop

SchultzProducts

Plastic
Let me start off with that i am not a machinist. i am the project manager for the company. i have a lot of mechanical experience but some terminology i may not understand. we have an older VF-2 thats been giving us a laundry list of problems. about a month ago when the z axis was sent to home and e stop was depressed the z axis dropped suddenly crashing into the table. Some times hitting the e stop the z axis would only drop a few inches some times all the way to out wood block on the table. we changed the z axis servo amp and z axis dive motor and it didnt give us any further issues. about a week ago while milling 24 303 SS pieces on a rotating fixture with a 47/64s jobber drill the drill siezed in a part and when the z axis atempted to lift it released the tool holder and drill leaving them stuck in the part. we disassebled the spindle to check the belleville washers and they were in perfect conditon. we did notice some scoring marks near the ball bearing latch mechanism for the tool holder. we polished them down cleaned and regreased the spindle. zero issues since. then last friday june 26th 2020 that same 47/64 size drill was not cutting well and our machinist stopped the operation and slid the table towards the door to make inspection easier. the cut from the drill was not smooth and making a lot of noise and he moved on to another machine to address the issue at a later time. end of the that day he went to shut the machine down and apon hitting e stop the z axis came crashing down again onto the table thankfully not hitting the work or the fixture.

My question for everyone is what could be causing the z axis to suddenly drop upon hitting the e stop? we have hundreds of parts to run on this machine and and its been a work in progress and a pain to accomplish. we are only 25 parts in.

thanks in advance for any help!