What's new
What's new

How to format a USB to use in a floppy emulator drive in a Haas VF3?

comp 670

Aluminum
Hi, I bought a 2001 Haas VF3 that has a GOTEK "floppy emulator" ( I think that's what it is called) to replace the floppy drive so it can use a USB stick to load programs in the machine. I have a program to run but it wont load. Doing some research it looks like the USB stick must be "formatted" to look like a floppy disk to the machine? Then there are two buttons and a 0 to 99 readout on the emulator that you pick what program number you want to load?

I am NOT good at all with computer stuff, I've tried online to format the usb but I'm getting no where.

If anybody could walk me through how to format the usb then load a program that would be awesome.. I also posted this in the general section. Thank you.

If that's the same unit I have then this is how it works. Turn the VF3 off. Then, with the USB stick plugged in, hold one of the buttons down (I forget which one) and turn the machine back on. The display on the emulator should count up to 99 and then you'll be good.

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

Just tried it with two different usb thumb drives and no go... Tried every combination of buttons and turning it on and off.

I worked on it all day today and had three other people try also and no go. So I converted it back to a floppy drive and it works fine now. I had a bunch of old programs on floppys from my old job and they load great. I do have a new program a guy wrote me yesterday that wont load but there must just be something wrong with the post or something? Slowly getting this figured out and hope to make some chips SOON!! Thanks to all those that tried to help.