What's new
What's new

I need a miracle (1994 Haas VF0)

MMWLLC

Plastic
Hi everyone! I'm still relatively new to this fourm and not incredibly active yet (been busy making parts). Anyway, I recently got a 124 low battery alarm. After talking to a friend of a friend who is a Haas tech (Let's call him Bob), he said I needed a battery kit. After talking with haas on the phone, they verified that. Parts show up, Bob shows up to install, Bob informs me that what showed up is the incorrect kind for this processor. Bob goes home, tells me the correct parts to order etc. I order the correct batteries (2 of them with tabs to solder on the board) as well as the jumper battery to save the information while the old batteries are removed. Parts come in, Bob shows up. He removes the entire processor board from the cabinet and unplugs all of the cables (I have read somewhere you are not supposed to do this?) Solders the new batteries on, re-installs the processor, and it seemed like everything was going to be good to go. Well, after getting everything place an alarm on the bottom left of the screen comes up "system error" Chip auger is spazzing out and something else was making some weird noise. Also, red lights flashing everywhere inside the electrical cabinet. He turns on and off the machine a few times, and is stumped. This is 10:00 PM. We decide to call it a night. After he left I turned the machine on once more and the "system Error" message went away, but There is now a bunch of alarms as follows:

102 Servos off (I'm aware what this one is)
124 (low battery)
203 lead screw CRC error
204 offset CRC error
261 Rotary CRC error
205 Programs CRC error
250 Prog Data Error
212 Prog Integrity Error
107 Emergency off
119 Over Voltage

Mind you that before this battery swap this machine was working almost flawlessly. Quirks here or there that all old machines have, but it was working like it should.