What's new
What's new

Milling Slot in 1/2 Steel Block

Fite13

Plastic
I just bought a HAAS VF-4SS. I am VERY new to machining. I am trying to mill a .750" wide slot into a 2.500" wide x 2.250" long x .500" thick steel bar. The slot goes all the way through the .500" and 1.375" into the 2.250" side.

I have tried to use a 1/2" roughing end mill to start it and then finish it with a 1/2" 4fl end mill. I keep breaking both.

Any feedback or tips at all will be appreciated.

What are your feeds/speeds, DOC, is tool coated, running coolant? The more info you can give about what's going on, the more likely people can help you.

what rpm and feed are you running? depth of cut ? type of steel ? if I were to play it safe I'd be at around 1000 rpm or less on a 4 flute, about . 1 to .15 depth of cut. .75 (3/4) inch a min with flood. if you had some decent software you could do a interpreting cut with a smaller endmill like .25 and about 2200 rpm and .1 deep .02 side cut at about 22. Inches per minute. but start off with what works for you. and get some software when you can afford it.

You have quite the machine to be asking that kind of question.

Two hands here to help...

On the first hand- use a smaller endmill to start if your looking to finish the slot at .500. 1/2" mill will wind up going oversize as it will deflect and push some as you step down...more so if you do not. Which leads me to are you stepping down or trying to take in one or two shots? Normally you want to be less then 1/2 the tool diameter in depth of cut "DOC". But since your burying the tool in a full cut it would need to be less deep. I'd run a 3/8 or 7/16 endmill, spin about 300SFM at 10-12IPM leaving .01 on sidewalls with 3/16" cuts aprox for carbide.

Going corn cobb rougher...bring speed way down.

So I'd step and rough down to depth then a fresh EM to take a finished pass.