What's new
What's new

New to me Haas Mini mill with old control

tjd10684

Cast Iron
So I just recently got this older haas mini mill I think its around 2000 it has the older haas control on it. I am coming from a protrak control and the processes to get tools and wcs positions setup are quite different. I was able to stumble through getting a couple long run jobs setup but I know there is a better way. What I would like to do is be able to use my analog 3d probe to set work coordinate systems and be able to measure tools offline. I think that I kinda know what I want to do but I'm having a hard time finding info on how to do it on an older control.

So my first question is how do I call a tool that is not in the umbrella? I would not want to keep my probe in the machine at all times there has to be a way to call a manual tool change to a tool number greater than 10.

Second I have a "master" tool that came with the Protrak machine its basically just a gauge tool. All other tools are referenced to that tool so length offsets are either positive for a tool that would be longer or negative for a shorter tool.

So my thoughts on how to setup what I want is call the master tool t99 and the 3d probe t98. I can then use t99 to set the absolute table zero. This would stay the same basically forever or until for some reason I got a new "master" tool or crashed something real good.

Then in a regular daily setup I can call t98 and probe to my work to set g54 55 56 ect and it should be a positive z value on my work coordinate system tab.

Is that sounding right so far or am I way off?

You can’t use a T number higher than what your carousel will hold but you can use a higher H number. So you would call T1 H99

Then do your setup. Whether you G54 etc is + or - depends on how you set your master tool length.