What's new
What's new

Retrofit 93 VF2

nottamachinist

Plastic
Hello fellow Haasers

I’m fairly new to posting here, but a long time lurker. I just got a 93 Haas VF2 I’m planning to retrofit with Linuxcnc. I just tinker with this trade, so I don’t make any money with my machine(yet). I see quite a few people posting on control issues or seem sick of Haas holding them hostage for software.

I am a Linux guy by trade, so I’m not at all worried about getting the software part running well. I’m more curious to hear opinions from the group if it would be valuable to anyone to see this retrofit done. The plan is to have it well documented and freely available to anyone. Centroid seems like a good path if you make money with your machine and just want something push button. For those of us out there without deep pockets I was thinking this could be useful.

Thoughts?

It would make for an interesting read!
I've always wondered about swapping dead old iron to a modern low budget system.

Think about it this way. No one may want it today. But next year you may just have helped someone start their dream!

Yes Please, if you do this, please document well. I'm not a linux guy by any stretch of the imagination, I managed to get a CNC TIG welder going using it but if I wanted to update my linuxcnc distro, there is no way I could get it running again in any reasonable amount of time - so much changes with every release that non coder guys like myself can't figure it out again.

I am interested in doing the same but my execution might be different than yours. LinuxCNC is based upon mouse/keyboard inputs which will not be acceptable to industrial operators (especially the E-stop button).