What's new
What's new

2nd? hand planers - what to consider?

Lumberjack

Hot Rolled
I´m contemplating over having myself a planer, might just be a really a bad case cast iron desease..
Not sure it´s gonna go down right Now but I started getting familiar with what´s on the market.

Short version
Essentially - what the ... to think of when scouting for an old planer.

Longer elaborated version:
Anyhow, main use would be to treat small medium sized machines and other tools + plus some jobs common in the area I think would work well in a planer.
My challenge is there is approx nill old planers around, so I have no first hand experience or even shops to visit and speak with.
I´ve read many good threads on here but not too many from this perspective.

Considering budget and space I´m looking into the 2-2,5m / 6-8´´table travel, single column. I belive? that should work out well for lathe beds used for centre dist up to 1250-1500mm /50-60"? as the bed ways are at somewhere the sadle width longer than centre dist - approx. Larger lathes than that I feel quickly become a very different animals.
Or is a 2m/6´ foot planer just too short? Just like a 30" lathe is so often 10" too short when only having that one?
Also the planers themselves becomes beasts going much past 8´, considering rigging, transport, setup and even foundation.
Some also have milling attachments and even grinding, milling I think would be good and still not to harmful to the machine but grinding attachment makes me a bit nervous on an old machine considering higher risk of damages to the V-ways. Otoh, grinding attachment is extremely appealing thinking about hard lathe beds...

But please, I´d love to hear the comments, concerns, experiences, Any advice from you guys who got real life experience from both running and making use of them, in either configuration.