The art of hand scraping - Page 3
Close
Login to Your Account
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Here's yet another voice from a professional woodworker / self taught machinist.

First, to do any sort of fine or accurate woodworking it IS important to have a flat sole on the plane. Not to tenths, maybe within .005. If my plane looks good checked 6 ways with a straight edge held up tp the light, then it's just fine. For a #4 a 12" straight edge as found in Starrett adjustable square. Ya gotta have something you trust to be straight!

Most of the iron planes I've seen, old or new, have not been flat enuf. Lie Nielsen, yes, but you pay for it. And you may still have to flatten them later in life, they wear at the throat or just plain move, so it's useful to have this skill

Lapping with abrasive paper only works if the sole is concave, convex soles stay convex. Even flat soles will become convex if you lap them long enuf. Not sure why, maybe the paper cuts more aggressively at the edge, maybe swarf accumulates under the center of the sole, whatever…

I started with old files too, but my edges lasted longer than yours seem to. I wonder if all files are case hardened, I thought they were solid high carbon steel. I just used them straight form the grinder - worked, not as nice as a polished edge and probably didn't last as long, but it got me started. Gotta be careful not to get them too hot, or just re-harden them as advised above.

I had an old cast iron surface plate, but if you have a machine with ground table that checks out with your straight edge (gotta have one you trust), you can use that to spot your plane. Light is pretty damn thin, if you can't see any between the straight edge and the table, it's flat enuf for spotting a hand plane. If you insist on using you tile, check it carefully with that straight edge, and if it's really flat rough it up a bit with abrasives so it holds blue better.