What's new
What's new

Best way to repair quill in cast irion sleave.

bmikkalson

Hot Rolled
Have a older drill press that has lots of slop. Tapper on the quill is .020 and the cast iron sleeve is wore just as much. Here is what I am thinking,

Turn the old quill down ( non chrome finish), use some kind of bearing build up epoxy pour to fit.

Turn down quill and install brass sleeves in body.

cut a cap in body and try to squeeze the head bore together.

Take 3 brass set scress and apply pressure around the bore, so that the quill will ride on 3 contact point.

Throw the hunk of shit away..

What you guys think?

LOL....now here is another good example why you need to buy a new digital camera. I do like the way you are experimenting or day dreaming on machine rebuilding / repair.

As a friend and teacher I am delighted you have the "Fix-it" up fever. If I remember your drill press was a Chinese piece of dung, wasn't it? If it is a good American built Delta I would consider replacing it unless your into restoration and want to get famous on You-Tube. If it was a Tail Stock on your lathe that would be a different matter. On it I would grind the quill and chrome it up and regrind it. Bore and then hone to size using a Sunnen Honing machine. I have also bore out the front end of the TS Bore and made a bronze bushing for the bore............... but back to your question.

You wrote:

Turn the old quill down ( non chrome finish), use some kind of bearing build up epoxy pour to fit. (Answer) NO... Grind the quill and pump in some Moglice..maybe ..

Turn down quill and install brass sleeves in body. (Answer) better idea then # 1 but still NO but has some potential but you would need to accurately bore the hole and sleeve.

cut a cap in body and try to squeeze the head bore together. (Answer) Worse Idea then# 1 and a BIG NO