What's new
What's new

Boyar Schultz 612 spindle bearings

Bbk_Bbk

Aluminum
Well, my good ol boyar Schultz 612 finally decided that is was going to crap out on me and began screaming at me yesterday. So I need to replace the spindle bearings. First off I have zero experience with this and I can not be without my surface grinder for more then a couple days.

I believe I have the older type with a fixed motor. Can anyone help me out with where to get the correct bearings, and just offer any guidance. I would be forever grateful!
008709a4febeb5df502b7942ec87dda2.jpg

37838d2e4d1399df7598cd055ef2ff47.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

This should get you started- Boyar Schultz 612 Spindle Rebuild

Mine were pretty easy. I'm not sure about that belt rig. It's not what the bearing system was designed for and you have to be careful of any loading towards the front of the machine, as that works against the preload. The torque on the vertical ways probably isn't a great thing either, but if it gets the job done...

The belt rig is Built out of aluminum and is maybe 10 lbs. all thin and hollow. I have been running it for 7 years with zero problems. Other then bearings now.

So can anyone confirm the exact bearings I need to order for this machine?

So can anyone confirm the exact bearings I need to order for this machine?

I did a bearing clean out and lube in 2019. The problem was an occasional bearing growl and quick coast down. Cleaning and new lube solved both issues.

Mine is a later (1981) "Challenger" model. And the bearing numbers did not match the parts list that I had. So here is what I found. YMNV

Small rear bearing mounted with numbers to inside. Bearing is Fafnir 204k MM C2. Bearing feels loose after cleaning. I think the C2 marking means std commercial grade.
Large bearings marked MRC 205R DS ABEC7 M47 s2. Assembled markings to inside. Spindle grease Chevron SRI-2. Small bearing takes 1.5cc and each of the larger ones take 2.0cc of grease.

John