What's new
What's new

Can You Learn To Scrape from a Book or a Forum or ?

Richard King

Diamond
On my Facebook Page someone asked "what's better, learning to scrape from a book, DVD, Forum or from a mentor?"

I shared my story of hearing students tell me at my scraping / rebuilding classes that they had read the Connelly Book, read the forums for years and trying to learn how. I wrote telling them that many of the internet forum members were self taught and never were paid to rebuild machinery and how some people on the forums can pretend to be an expert and show no proof they have been paid for years making a living rebuilding machinery. One of the readers on FB wrote how he was able to learn from my tutoring over the internet so it is possible. I believe I have helped several people over the years to scrape better on here plus taught several how to replace Turcite, so it is possible. I always say I can teach anyone to scrape if they are mechanically inclined. Over the years when I taught at Factories like GM, Cumins, Timken,dozens of new machine builders in the states, Europe, Asia of all my 30.000 plus students I have discovered most people can learn to scrape in 2 to 3 days with me standing behind them tutoring them. I am saying scraping, not be a full time Journeyman machine rebuilder, but you will be able to scrape a flat surface flat by hand or by a Biax Power scraper. On FB, Keith Rucker said this too. So if you would like to learn the basics of machine tool rebuilding I have 2 classes this summer in the states so you can learn how. I will also be teaching 3 weeks in October/Nov in Austria for BIAX Germany the manufacturer of the World Famous BIAX Power Scraper. I am also looking for folks to Host the 3 or 5 day seminars anywhere in the world. Hosts do not pay for the classes. You can see the Timken Reference on my Web Site Handscraping.com