What's new
What's new

Clumpy spray with siphon gun

adambomb777

Aluminum
Just putting the first coat of rustoleum 7400 primer on my bridgeport mill. It is coming out clumpy. I am using a siphon gun that was given to me. I do not have any experience with a spray gun. Any suggestions on what I am doing wrong?
cb78c1f4c37aa44df57573b88b651715.jpg
bd0ccc25581d87130475ecf32b5f380d.jpg

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

Could be one of several things,

Paint is too thick, not enough reducer/thinner
Too much air pressure at the tip
Too far away from the surface
Too much fan pattern pressure
Not enough overlap

If I was a rookie with an ol' school spray rig, I'd probably practice a bit on some sheet goods, ie: scrap metal, busted up doors or fenders from car wrecks, cardboard, whatever you can find free or cheap. You need to get some skills to do the job to get the results you're looking for.

Oh, and please don't overlook the minimum breathing protection required

Ok I will look for some items to practice on. Can I scuff up the primer on the bridgeport and reprimer? Or do I need to take it back down to metal? It is pretty chalky.

To get the results you're looking for, I would recommend getting the surface back to smooth again. Try wiping it off with paint thinner, then sand with 80 or 120 grit to finish it. Don't over worry about removing all the primer, just focus on smooth.

Did you strain the paint? That is critical to getting a smooth finish. Paint stores sell strainers, but you can make a finer mesh strainer from silk screen cloth as it is available in 400-600 thread per inch.

The critical thing spraying is not to spray too much, keep the gun perpendicular to the work surface at the same distance.