What's new
What's new

Gib Repair

Sharab85

Plastic
Hello,

I have been retrofitting a Lagun CNC knee mill for a couple of months now, I am using the original servos with Viper servo drives and Centroids Acorn board the whole process has gone fairly smoothly there has been a steep learning curve but it has been fun. I am getting to the point where I was calibrating the steps per revolution and checking for backlash, I was finding .006-.007 of backlash in the Y axis and I thought I traced it to the thrust bearing so I bought new NSK TAC matched set thrust bearings for the X and Y axis (not cheap) and it helped but it was not the main problem. Come to find out that the knee is fairly worn in the middle if I loosen the gibs the backlash goes down to .0015 but with the gibs that loose I have visible movement of the saddle when rocked. The best compromise of gib tightness and saddle movement has been a .005 backlash with still some saddle slop. after looking closer at my Y axis gib I think some of the problem might be with it, it is in sorry shape it has a groove worn in the middle it was very bowed out in the middle and feels weird when tightening (it will get hard to tighten then loosen un then get hard again).

Could I have the Gib ground/machined down and have some turcite/rulon added to the wear side? My thought is that this would accomplish two things for me, the turcite would lessen the friction so I could keep the gib tighter without the accompanying backlash from sticking and the turcite/rulon would give it some compressing ability also allowing me to keep the gib tighter.

Sorry if this is long winded or poorly worded but I am just hoping for a way to save this project as I have quite a bit of time and money invested in it so far.

Thank you,

Shawn

IMG_3837.jpg