What's new
What's new

Hook Scraping

Spyderedge

Titanium
I'm reading through "The Art Of Hand Scraping" on the archives, and towards the beginning he mentions the practice of hook scraping and how precise it can be compared to other scraping techniques (Writer claims up to a 50 millionths surface deviation.)

Now since this is a text, there are no pictures. Does anybody have pictures of a hook scraped finish, somebody practicing hook scraping, or better yet all the pictures in the book, or a text with pictures of the book?

I don't plan on learning hook scraping, as I am still learning push and pull scraping, but while I'm reading the book I might as well understand what I'm reading.

Thanks, all!

Umm. By hook scraping are they referring to that C-shaped stroke that Moore was famous for? Or is hook scraping a different tool with a hook? IIRC the claim made by Moore was that the technique produced a scoop that entered and exited cleanly so it didn't leave much of a burr. I've watched video of a guy doing it and I'm guessing that it was also used or developed to use more of the cutting edge - an important factor when scraping tools required frequent resharpening.

And by 50 millionths is that the difference between the high spots or is that the difference between high and low points.

Umm. By hook scraping are they referring to that C-shaped stroke that Moore was famous for? Or is hook scraping a different tool with a hook? IIRC the claim made by Moore was that the technique produced a scoop that entered and exited cleanly so it didn't leave much of a burr. I've watched video of a guy doing it and I'm guessing that it was also used or developed to use more of the cutting edge - an important factor when scraping tools required frequent resharpening.

And by 50 millionths is that the difference between the high spots or is that the difference between high and low points.

On the 50 millionths, I have no clue. I'd assume inclusive (high/low)