What's new
What's new

How to determine which surface to scrape first on a bed ways.

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm not a professional scraper so I just shudder at the thought of scraping a lathe bed with two v's and flats using just a straight edge as reference. If you have a master sled for bluing that particular lathe then no worries. Without, I'd send it out for grinding and use the freshened up bed as a master for saddle, tailstock, maybe headstock if needed.

L7

I also meant to add, you should always start at the beginning. Imagine of you started at the end, the job would be done before you started.

Now thats a novel approach. :-)

Am still checking into a raft to float the bed over for grinding !

I'm not a professional scraper so I just shudder at the thought of scraping a lathe bed with two v's and flats using just a straight edge as reference. If you have a master sled for bluing that particular lathe then no worries. Without, I'd send it out for grinding and use the freshened up bed as a master for saddle, tailstock, maybe headstock if needed.

L7

I was reading about 'master sleds' for multiple V ways a few months back - my thoughts at the time was it seamed a lot of extra scraping - now - I think I can appreciate the benefits of such a sled on beds with multiple inverted V's on the same mating part.

Mat

I was reading about 'master sleds' for multiple V ways a few months back - my thoughts at the time was it seamed a lot of extra scraping - now - I think I can appreciate the benefits of such a sled on beds with multiple inverted V's on the same mating part.

Mat