What's new
What's new

First time scraping

sasanifab

Aluminum
I'm a nurse by trade but I love messing around in the garage , I always wanted to learn how to scrape. I got myself a grade a surface plate and a biax hand scraper. This was taken off of the mill , it had a lot of surface imperfections.... I just wanted to get the feel for it. How am I doing?
url=https://postimg.cc/qzRTsST9]
2-F18-A870-5-D0-B-4-E40-8-DFF-E2-A5759-A5-F6-B.jpg
[/url]

I think I see a lot of scratching, but the pictures aren't the clearest. Is that iron? If so, you might want to describe your scraper sharpening method. If it's steel you'll maybe need to tweak your scraper edge geometry a bit.

Yes there are scratches , I think those came from the stone I was using to remove burrs. I'm just using a biax 20 blade . This is steel, it came off the mill , surface finish was shit.

Steel is tough to scrape without scratching. As I recall, one of the guys here posted a thread about the geometry he found to work pretty well. I believe it was a somewhat substantial positive rake on the front of the scraper with a small flat ground at the bottom so it didn't have so much clearance.

Steel is tough to scrape without scratching. As I recall, one of the guys here posted a thread about the geometry he found to work pretty well. I believe it was a somewhat substantial positive rake on the front of the scraper with a small flat ground at the bottom so it didn't have so much clearance.

When I scraped steel back in the day I used a scraper with a cutting blade made out of a large power hacksaw blade. As you say it had a substantial positive rake on the cutting edge. You could also use the same scraper on cast iron but you needed a negative rake on the blade then. You didn’t get many scrapes out of it on cast iron before it needed re-sharpening.

Regards Tyrone.

I'd look at your scraping from two perspectives: What are you scraping, and How are you scraping.