What's new
What's new

How high is a "high spot"? vague...

pianoman8t8

Hot Rolled
Hi all,
I've run into a dilemma at work. I run a CNC cylindrical grinder, I grind OD's and ID's. Most ID's I grind are what we call "cones", they vary in size, but are about 10 degrees included angle for the most part with a profile tolerance of .0002" per side. We are currently required to use what they call a "smear gage" to test the form of the cone, and must have 75% contact on the gage to the ground standard. I feel this is fairly subjective to who's using it, how much dye is put on, and on top of ALL that, it does not give you a quantitative number for form, which they are apparently ok with... for now...
I'm raising a stink about it because although I have zero experience in scraping or using hi spot dye to check scraped surfaces, my impression from reading about the scraping process, is the high spot dye could likely not show up over .0002" profile tolerance per side. What are your thoughts on this? Thanks

It really depends on how think the high spot is applied. I use a ink roller and if I want it really thin I might wipe most off with a clean rag. If done in this way it is possibly less than .0002 thick, but some more knowledgeable in this subject might say.

Off your topic but it is important to consider that if the customer has agreed to this method of dimensional confirmation, YOU can only make a problem for everyone by exposing details or weakness.

Remember, regardless of the print dimensions, the part must work! Form, fit, and function. If the smear test is the agreed on procedure, that puts all the parts that pass the test into the books as good and billable. If the parts don't work, it is the customer who will lead any change of the confirmation procedure.

Any idiot can put a number on a piece of paper. Even a very small number like .0002

OT I know, but such are lessons learned.