What's new
What's new

Making Sandavik Scraper Thinner and more "bendy"

addman20

Plastic
Hi guys, I was reading the forums and came across Richard mentioning that sometimes you can thin the sandavik scraper to make it more bendy. I'm a total newbie to scraping and I think it was mentioned that making the Sandavik scraper thinner would help give me more control especially for a new person.

Has anyone out there done this? Right now my sandavik scraper is very stiff. If I do take some thickness off, how much should it be? I'm worried I would end up taking off too much and make it too bendy and hard to control again.

Thanks guys any input would be appreciated.

What size scraper do you have? They have 3 models. I have had students drill holes in handle as shown. Also I tell students to mill or grind out .020" at a time the middle 40% and try it until you like it. I also have people ush down on a bathroom scale and you need to press down about 7 pounds to get it to cut. Also this also depends on how sharp the blade is. You will need to grind the blade tip radius to 60 mm R and a neg rake of 5 deg's on a 600 grit or finer grit diamond wheel. :-) Merry Christmas. Rich

Attachments

• 20150710_142200.jpg
    20150710_142200.jpg
    65.9 KB · Views: 160
  • pic17035.jpg
    pic17035.jpg
    14.2 KB · Views: 127
Thanks

What size scraper do you have? They have 3 models. I have had students drill holes in handle as shown. Also I tell students to mill or grind out .020" at a time the middle 40% and try it until you like it. I also have people ush down on a bathroom scale and you need to press down about 7 pounds to get it to cut. Also this also depends on how sharp the blade is. You will need to grind the blade tip radius to 60 mm R and a neg rake of 5 deg's on a 600 grit or finer grit diamond wheel. :-) Merry Christmas. Rich

Hi Rich, thanks for your reply.

I have the 620-20 model which I believe is the 20mm width the least widest one.