What's new
What's new

Monarch 16CY bed wear assessment results (should I invest or cut my losses?)

marka12161

Stainless
Hi all,
A couple of weeks ago i brought home a 1941 Monarch 16CY with 54" bed. At the time of purchase I opened up the headstock and confirmed the gears look good. This thing came with a taper attachment, steady rest and follow rest. I'm assessing the condition of the machine and am trying to determine if i should continue to invest time and money in this machine or, if it's too worn, should I part it out to recoup my money ($2K into it so far). I'm a hobbyist with aspirations to earn a bit of beer money after retirement from my full time job.

I just finished taking some measurements of the internal and external surfaces on the v-ways. My set up for taking these measurements is shown in the attached photos. I did not level the machine prior to taking these measurements as i would think that dimensions across the bed are not effected by bed twist. Also, i realize that the measured wear is the result of wear in both the v-way and the flat way upon which the jig is sitting. Note that i'm using the back vertical flat surface as a reference. This set up shown in the pics is only for the inside surface of the V-way, i did the outside surface as well. The v-ways show some pretty significant pitting which many on the antique forum believe to be due to corrosion. Results are below, all measurements are in thousandths.

Thanks
Mark

Distance from Headstock, Outside, Inside,
3", 0, 0,
1 ft, -3, -1.5,
2 ft, -5, +1,
3 ft, -5, +5,
4 ft, -1, +8,
5 ft, +2, +7.5,
6 ft, +4, +5,

Attachments

• IMG_20190804_123635132.jpg
    IMG_20190804_123635132.jpg
    95.7 KB · Views: 221
  • IMG_20190804_123641840.jpg
    IMG_20190804_123641840.jpg
    92.9 KB · Views: 196
Darn,